Spiritual Monster
VS's Archetype
Spiritual Monster
Cursed Captain, Hendrick
Japanese SP(スピリチュアル)モンスター
∙∙∙∙∙∙∙ Base SP モンスター
∙∙∙∙∙∙∙ Romanized Supirichuaru Monsutā
Chinese 心灵怪獸 Xīnlíng Guàishòu
Anime Appearance Yu-GI-Oh! VS
Game Appearance Duel Portal
Spiritual Monster is a custom type of Monster Card.
"Spiritual Monsters", (スピリチュアル モンスター, Supirichuaru Monsutā, abbreviated SP(スピリチュアル)モンスター in card texts of OCG) is a type of Monster Card. The color of their card frame is gray. These cards are placed in the Extra Deck.

To be properly Special Summoned, Spiritual Monsters must first be Spiritual Summoned. If they leave the Extra Deck without being Spiritual Summoned, they cannot be Special Summoned while they are banished or in the Graveyard.

Like other Extra Deck monsters, Spiritual Monsters cannot exist in the hand or Main Deck (even with card effects). If a Spiritual Monster would be moved to the hand or Main Deck, it is returned to the Extra Deck instead. If a card like "Transmigiration Break" or "Degenerate Circuit" is applying, this will override the Spiritual Monster's ability to return to the Extra Deck.

Spiritual Summoning

Main article: Spiritual Summons

A Spiritual Summon is the act of Summoning a Spiritual Monster from the Extra Deck by fulfilling its condition. Unless specifically told otherwise, player can only Spiritual Summon a Spiritual Monster from the Extra Deck by fulfilling its condition (written in the Summoning Condition box) during Main Phase 1 or 2.

Specific Link Zone

While the new rules apply to Spiritual Monsters; have to be Spiritual Summoned on Extra Monster Zone or Linked Zone, there are many Spiritual Monsters who have even stricter Summoning rules. Some Spiritual Monsters specifically states that they can only be Spiritual Summoned on specific Link Spell Linked Zone (a new type of Spell Card that creates Link Zone / State).


  • "Macedonia Throne" and "Bucephalus" are Link Spells that create "restricted" Link Zones which only allow only Summoning of "Alexander" Spiritual Monster.
  • "King of Conquest, Alexander" can only be Spiritual Summoned on Zone that specifically mentioned its name.
  • In short, "King of Conquest, Alexander" cannot be Spiritual Summoned anywhere except Monster Zones linked by the two aforementioned Link Spells.


Community content is available under CC-BY-SA unless otherwise noted.